I am not the Girl on Fire or Divergent, but do I still have a battle to fight?

we may not be characters in a YA dystopian thriller, but that doesn’t mean we aren’t fighting an important battle.

FaithFoley Yours

“I have a theory that selflessness and bravery aren’t all that different.”

Over Christmas break I read the Hunger Games trilogy, and my first week home for the summer I read the Divergent trilogy [btw, still crying over the end of Allegiant].

I’m sure you all probably know, in both series there is a Heroine who fights, battles and ultimately kicks-butt for the ones she loves. Both heroines are remarkably brave, strong, and self-aware.

What has moved me the most about these books is the theme of sacrifice. While both Katniss and Tris are fighting to end the horrible evil facing them, they are always willing to give their own lives in the place of their loved ones. Especially in Divergent, Tris learns and demonstrates what it means to be truly selfless.

At the end of both of these series I have felt both empowered and insignificant at the same time…

View original post 338 more words

Leave a Reply

